Newly elected council members installed

Written by admin

Yavapai-Apache Nation installs 3 new council members

Chair Jane Russell-Winiecki (L) stands with newly elected council members Darlene Rubio, Genevieve Datsi, Thomasene Cardona and Vice Chairman Larry Jackson, Sr.

By Don Decker, YAN News  9/29/17

The Election Board of the Yavapai-Apache Nation conducted a swearing-in ceremony Friday, September 29, 2017 for Darlene Rubio, Genevieve Datsi and Thomasene Cardona.

Genevieve Datsi signs her Oath of Office agreement as Election Board Chief Brian Marquez witnesses the signing.

A general election was held on September 16 with a field of 14 candidates and the three candidates were selected to fill the vacated seats of Billy Garner, David Kwail and Annette Mendez.


Thomasene Cardona signs her Oath of Office document in front of Brian Marquez, Election Board Chief of Yavapai-Apache Nation.

Brian Marquez, Chief of the Election Board for the Yavapai-Apache Nation administered the Oath of Office for the 3 new council members. Each new council member gave greetings and expressed their gratitude to the community members for being selected for council.

Some members of the current Nation’s tribal council were in attendance as well as executive officers Chair Jane Russell-Winiecki and Vice Chair Larry Jackson, Sr.

The three new council member’s official day began the day of their inauguration.

Darlene Rubio, newly elected council member signs on as new council member.

The morning ceremony was well attended by community and family members and a reception was held for the newly elected officials at the conclusion of the ceremony.


Inauguration held in packed council chambers on September 29, 2017.

YAN News photos


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Skip to toolbar