Yavapai-Apache Nation selects new leaders

Tribal election selects new leaders on Yavapai-Apache Nationdscn6750
By Don Decker, YAN News 9/17/16
With a 2:1 margin, Jane Russell Winiecki of Clarkdale won the Tribal Chairperson’s position with 387 votes to incumbent Tribal Chairman Thomas Beauty with 174 votes

For the Chairperson’s position, Mrs. Winiecki received overwhelming votes in every voting district including absentee ballots which converted to 69% of the votes to Mr. Beauty’s 31% of the total 561 votes cast for the top position of Tribal Chairperson.
In the Vice Chairperson’s position, Larry Jackson, Sr. also of Clarkdale, won the seat with 330 votes to incumbent Vice Chairwoman Darlene Rubio 235 votes.
Absentee ballots also were critical factors in the general election as opposed to the primary election.
Siera Russell of Clarkdale won the lone council seat with a total of 233 votes. Ms. Russell received the highest number of votes from Camp Verde, Middle Verde, Tunlii and the absentee ballots.

Siera Russell stands with Jane Russell Winiecki and Larry Jackson, Sr. who were selected for their respective seats in the Nation’s government.

*More expanded news on the candidates who ran for the election and those won their seats Monday morning September 19.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Skip to toolbar